carliewired

By carliewired

84 F/ 29C

We have a day with
good air quality, so let's
make the best of it

~carliewired

I was out on my deck getting my first photo of the day. The sun was soon to appear above the hills. 

I left the house at 7 to drive into the east entrance of McArthur Island Park. My first stop was near the Butterfly Garden where I could look into the slough. I found a heron standing motionless along the far edge of the water. Were he a fisherman, he would have needed hip waders. 

I drove on to the west side of the loop and parked near the soccer building. I could see there were deer down on the playing fields. On closer inspection, I could see one buck thrashing around in a goalie net. Its antlers were tangled in the net and he couldn't get free. Meanwhile, his three buddies grazed the grass seemingly unconcerned by the frantic efforts of the fourth buck. 

I had left my cell phone in my car, but a lady was on her phone trying to get help. She made several calls and finally her message to the police was "And there will be scores of soccer players with families and vehicles here in about an hour and a half." I thanked her and said I'd best take myself out of the way. 

I drove around to the south side of the island to get some views of the river. I was delighted to find an osprey perched on a dead cottonwood tree overlooking the river. My last shot was a wee chipmunk sitting on a tree stump where I'd normally catch a marmot sunning itself. No marmots today. 

I'm in for the day just puttering as my cranky feet will allow. I'm hoping my daughter will do the grocery shop for me to save my feet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.