Auguries

By McCaviti

Day of the Cycads

This photo doesn’t really meet today’s theme although I was beside myself most of the day trying to help my husband solve his hacked Facebook account and the repercussions on his Facebook business account. Worst possible time as he is travelling to Creswick for a holiday with his Mum!

Anyway, the light relief for the day was a trip to the cinema to see Godland with my sister. The cinema is located at the bottom of my old workplace, and en route I pass one of my favourite sculptures, “Saltimbanque” by Tim Kyle. The cycads(?) that surround him have made great strides since he was installed, and when I walked back past I could see a scene of  decapitated cycads on the ground next to him.

The movie itself had episodes of violence, and was very interesting, about a Danish priest’s very unsuccessful mission in Iceland in the 19th century. Beautiful scenery and photography played a major role.  I have seen the movie described as "inert" but I really enjoyed it.  Here's a review that describes it as one of the best movies about photography ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.