East Lothian

I am married to an exercise junkie; there is nothing more likely to put a smile on His Lordship's face than the thought of punishing his body with hard and prolonged motion.

The problem is that I often get dragged into the consensual punishment, as it was this morning at far too early an hour for a Sunday.
I have to admit that yesterday it seemed a good idea to leave early for a cycle run down the coast, but somehow the appeal wasn't altogether obvious to me at 8am today.

It is not that I don't like exercise, but it has to be on my terms, and preferably not with people brimming over with energy and excitement like young puppies even if they are old enough to know better.

Over the years I have been rail rolled by His Lordship into running marathons and cycling Perthshire Etapes and South African Arguses, but have always felt that I would have been better suited to sitting prettily on a couch with my knitting.

Of course in retrospect, I am happy to have performed these challenges; somehow overcoming my natural fear of their enormity has made it all the more precious to have the medals.

It was Gala day in the coastal villages of Longniddry and Aberlady, with bunting fluttering enchantingly in the breeze and houses adorned artistically.
We went as far as Dirleton before turning back:I was not persuaded, even with the prospect of an ice cream, to continue to North Berwick and the crowds.

The sun struggled out from behind the cloud off the sea and countryside transformed itself into a vibrant patchwork of colour. The trees seemed burdened with their freshly green foliage;the roadside flowers especially the thrift and poppies were bright against the omnipresent white of the blossoming hawthorn hedges and the rape fields in the distance were eye wateringly yellow. Even the burgeoning number of wind blades in their whiteness, fitted in with the landscape.

Home to a newly sunny Edinburgh, and at last the chance to sit down with the Sunday Papers...... Bliss!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.