There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Abandoned Lime Kilns / Venus on the Half-Shell

It was an amazing day, full of all good things. My husband and I drove to Altoona for a splendid pair of original breakfast smiles at the Eat'n Park there. So it was sunny side up eggs, bacon (crispy), potato cakes, and Italian toast for me, hooray! I picked up a baker's dozen ears of corn at the Himmel's truck parked nearby; this is the best corn we know of anywhere!

Then we drove to Canoe Creek State Park, where I went for a walk, explored the abandoned limestone kilns, walked the boardwalk, saw an eagle, and had a lovely swim. My husband, one of the good guys, rescued a katydid from the showers and released it outdoors.

When we got home, I set up a fun picture with the sweet corn and you may see it in the extras. Here is how it went:

Husband: Why are you putting corn on the floor?
Me: *rips clothes off* Stand back!
I'm getting ready to take a silly picture!

So you may see the lime kilns, wrapped in a tree shadow, above. The kilns, by the way, are strange, the light is complex, and they are well worth visiting in person. They are about an easy, relatively flat, one-mile walk from the beach parking area, along the Limestone Trail.

My counterfeit Botticelli, which is called: Venus on the Half-Shell: the Pennsylvania Sweet Corn Edition, is in the extras, featuring myself as the Goddess of the Corn!  :-)

I have two images for this amazing day. Here are two songs. First, for the kilns, I'm pulling in Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, with Youngstown, from the Madison Square Garden show from 2000; I saw them on that tour, and they were everything you would ever want anything in the whole wide world to be. For my silly selfie as Venus on the Half-Shell, I've got Frankie Avalon, with Venus. And I've come back to add a bonus THIRD song: ZZ Top, with Legs!   ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.