Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

A LOVELY DAY ON FLOWER FRIDAY!

I decided to have a wander, on my own, around the garden this morning and as Mr. HCB is so proud of his dahlia bed, took lots of shots of his dahlias.  They are all looking beautiful and interestingly, are mostly pinks and purples - I wonder why?  I wonder if you can spot the odd one out - couldn’t resist this one - in honour of Mrs. T’s mother, Deanna!

I did a Click and Collect Order online for Aldi at Royal Wootton Bassett, which we had to collect between 12 and 1 p.m.  However, prior to that we had a visit from L, a lovely friend from Church, who comes from Kerala in South India.  They had been to India to visit family and sadly her young daughter was poorly whilst they were away, having several nosebleeds because of the dry heat.  However, now they are back in the UK, this appears to be healing. Her husband works in ICU in a Bristol Hospital and works long hours, so L can be quite lonely at times so it was good to see her this morning and to learn more about their family and life in Kerala.  I think this could become a regular visit, especially as her husband will soon be working in the north of England, but L will still be living quite near to us.  So, I am getting back into meeting people, albeit in our own garden, but that’s fine.

After we had collected our shopping, we then popped into Waitrose to get a few bits and pieces.  Whilst in there, we met a lovely couple - slightly older than us, but when we got chatting, as we I do, we learned that the lady called Pam, had had a similar operation to me 2 weeks ago and had even had the same surgeon!  What a coincidence.  I really warmed to them and asked if we could keep in touch, and they were happy for us to do that.  They live some miles from us, but said they would love us to visit, so I’m sure we will be doing that and it will be good to find out how Pam is doing.  They were interested to know that I had had almost the same operation, so we were comparing notes.  

I often marvel at the fact that even at our age, we can make friends, even whilst doing a supermarket shop!  

We have just had our evening meal, courtesy of our friend, L, who brought it this morning when she visited - chicken curry complete with rice and chapatis - delicious, but my lips are tingling from the heat of the curry sauce - I certainly don’t make mine that hot!  Mr. HCB loved it though - so thank you, L.  So kind of you.

Earlier this afternoon, at 4 p.m., our lovely next door neighbours, Lynn and Mike, came round for afternoon tea - just a drink and chat because we were both preparing an evening meal, but we do enjoy their company and always find something to chat about.  We enjoyed some banana chips, again courtesy of our friend, L, which she had brought back with her from India - they were very moreish and quite salty so quite to my taste.  When Mike put his Tilley hat on, we realised that he and Mr. HCB were Tilley Twins - so I asked if I could take a photograph of them - you can see them in extras.

Thank you for your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s Blip, which are very much appreciated.  Hope you all have a great weekend.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.