Life Savors

By osuzanna

Proud Parents

This is a backblip, but I have been waiting for the photos to come from the professional photographer.  Sept 6th was "Cup Day" for our son.  Every person whose name is on the cup, gets to have the Stanley Cup for a day. There are 3 Stanley Cups.  There is the Permanent Cup on display in Toronto at the Hockey Hall of Fame along with the original bowl of the first cup dating back to 1892 and there is this cup, the Presentation Cup which travels throughout the year.  

The cup arrived at the house with its two "Keepers of the Cup" to much excitement and many cheers of family and close friends.  There were hundreds of pictures taken, and many beverages were drunk from it.  After several hours at the house, they all made a trip to the local minor league baseball stadium (with the cup) and my son threw out the first pitch of the game and allowed many of the attendees to see the cup up close and take their pictures with it. I stayed behind to help set up for the next round of friends and neighbors.  Finally the day ended with the cup and all those between 21 and 40 heading down to the strip to a nightclub (with the cup) for another party. Too late and too loud for me. 

 As my son was growing up, his favorite movie was "Back to the Future".  I am sure he watched it at least 100 times.  As a surprise for him, my daughter-in-law found a man in Las Vegas who has a Delorean car that he has fixed up to look like the one in the movie.  See one of the extras.

I have included a few more extras that I think are very special.  The first is grandfather and father showing our grandson his last name on the cup. 

This day was quite memorable and will part of family lore for many years to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.