JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Home grown lunch

I don't often resort to photographing my meals, but it proved useful today, as I didn't get round to any other photography. The calabrese, tomatoes, courgettes and onions are all home grown and the sauce was flavoured with our oregano. We buy lots of peppers, which I struggled to grow for several years and have now abandoned, and jars of green olives; and this year, the garlic has failed miserably, but it feels positive when a large proportion of the meal has been grown as well as cooked here. I should clarify that it was cooked by P - I bake and preserve, but rarely cook a meal.

It was a wet and windy morning which left all the tubs of sunflowers horizontal on the deck, though fortunately all survived intact. I was busy with J and overdue cleaning. After lunch the rain stopped and it was almost sunny for a while, though the air felt distinctly autumnal. I rescued and re-tied the sunflowers, watered the greenhouse tomatoes, and picked another 1.5 kilos of the red Cristal ones and a few more Golden Cherries. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.