Keith B

By keibr

A Quiet Day

The weather was wet so we spent a lot of time indoors.  As part of our preparations for our upcoming trip I was making sure all the important documents are easily available on the iPad. I was also downloading e-books borrowed from BorrowBox, and unread New Scientist and New European magazines. I've also downloaded some podcasts to listen to as we drive southwards.
All this downloading is because we won't have the usual unlimited access to Internet, and downloading via the phone sometimes takes a while.
I've noticed that I browse BorrowBox somewhat like I browse a real library. I start looking for an author I know, or have been recommended and then scan down the lists until I see a book that looks interesting. Often it is on a subject I don't usually read, and from an author I'm unfamiliar with but it does broaden my reading a little.
As well as all this digital stuff I finished off "Our Game" a 1993 John le Carré book I have been reading. I always find his books gripping but I also feel sometimes the endings are a little unsatisfactory. This is never the case with his best books, the real le Carré classics, but he did write a great many books and I suppose they can't all be brilliant throughout!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.