Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Homeward Bound

Oh no I hear you cry - not another swallow however it has to be. I have a short window and they have still not left which leaves me looking out of the window this morning in the sunshine with a happy face. Poppy too felt the need to come out for a minute then left it there. Her look said it all as did Hubs - 'Oh not another swallow blip!'

I did take myself down to the forest this afternoon to see if my kingfisher had appeared after a barren few months no strike that - year! A bike was parked by 'my' tree and I spotted though they didn't spot me two guys behind a camo screen, lenses at the ready but they were chatting. Not wanting to invade so to speak I stood and watched a kingfisher come in... took 3 shots and it left and they were none the wiser. I gave a wave and cursing that I'd forgotten my camping stool leant unobtrusively near a tree. It never returned.

It later transpired that it was WG ie weird guy whom I'd met here before at least a year ago. He is actually lovely and we chatted for a while and I was reliably informed that the kingfisher was a skittish male and the concern was where the female was. Well the female was here see Extra for record shot. 

Had the swallows not rocked up I'd have chosen as my blip the grey wagtail on the brook in the Forest of Dean just because I like the colours in the Extra. There were two of them having fun chasing and just loving life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.