samsticks

By samsticks

Back to Lancefield

Backblip!

This is the second backblip from my weekend in Lancefield.

Although I was having an amazing time, The Shivering Timbers had a gig booked in for Sunday afternoon, so I jumped in the car after our extensive lunch (it was like a gourmet weekend away this weekend!) and set off back to Melbourne.

I had no phone battery and no time.

I made it to the Union in time and discovered that we were a man down... Steve's wife Julia's waters had broken at 5am and he wasn't going to make it. There was a fair amount of banter during the gig about us being concerned about his commitment to the band, but we hope that they're all doing well.

Considering we were playing as a 4-piece, the gig was an overwhelming success - the pub was packed, we sold (and signed) a fair few albums, and people came up and told us that they were just walking past, heard us, and ended up staying for an hour and a half (we played for 2 hours)! Can't complain about that!

Anyway, I dropped the drums off at home, fed Zelda and jumped back in the car to make it back to Lancefield and my weekend buddies. I took this shot on the way home on the freeway... I'd already placed my camera on the dashboard in anticipation and just clicked the shutter button a few times when traffic was light (I obviously didn't check what I'd taken). I liked this one!

I got back to the house and everyone was well on their way and stuck into a game in front of the fire. Like I said, an awesome weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.