A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Milestone

Today I graduated from college. I am officially and ceremonially a graduate. It's really a milestone that I thought would never pass. Math sucks. I have math anxiety. I've moved. I've moved again. I've been scared. I've quit. I've started again. And again....etc.

Twenty years I've struggled internally with this. I wanted it badly. I coveted other's degrees. I was the lone undergraduate in my family. But that has now passed. History. Progress. New days....I am a graduate. And I make soap. Both are accomplishments that I'm proud to announce. I'm 54. So? I'd be 54 anyway, right? (That's what my friend Patty says.)

Patty was here for my graduation. She flew in from California to attend a medical conference and was able to extend her visit to hang out with us and watch me graduate. It was sublime. I can't even tell you why....it's way too deep, and goes back twenty years in our history of friendship. That's all I can say. But I am proud and grateful.

Today I am thankful for the twenty seconds it took to walk across the stage, shaking hands and being handed a red diploma holder from DePaul University. I earned it. I am also thankful for my dear friend Patty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.