Jon's Page

By Jon_Davey

The Beautiful Game

It's always pleasing to see the pitches busy after we finish our regular Monday night game. I am assuming it's training night for a number of different teams as there always seem to be plenty of running drills going on. We had six-a-side after a couple of weeks when we had to call off the game because we couldn't even get ten people along. For my last game in my fifties I manage to score a couple of goals - the first a nice bring down of the ball and shot on the half volley, all with my 'wrong' foot. The second was a little scrappier, but they all count, especially when our team, who were comfortably ahead, let things slip in the last quarter of the game and won by just one in the end.
Earlier in the day I finally finished the first draft of my 'Paris Book' - having talked about it for years, I now have 78K words written in a more or less coherent form. I will put it away for a month or two now before going back to work on the next draft.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.