Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Windfall

In more ways than one!
Our pear tree has been fruitless for several years. It's pretty elderly and we thought perhaps it had just too much canker and had outlived it's fruiting life. Two years ago we got somebody to prune it hard and it bore no fruit that season either. This spring we cut it back again and it has certainly rewarded us.
I try to leave the pears as long as possible to ripen on the tree although they do continue to ripen once picked too. The winds last night took their toll however and this was last night's windfall collection. Out of interest I weighed one of the largest, for interest, 274grams, that's nine and a half ounces, a pretty substantial fruit. They are beautifully sweet too.
I had a visit to Clarins today, I opted for a hot stones massage for a change, it was extremely good. So good that when I came home I slept for an hour.
Quiz night tonight was fun, we were pleased with ourselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.