Fotomatikus

By hazelh

The Bay by Julia Rampen: book launch

This evening we joined a happy celebration at the launch of The bay by Julia Rampen. We know Julia's through her father Win. He is one of my oldest friends here in Edinburgh. We first met as students in Nantes in 1984. Pictured in my blip is the author signing copies of her book for her many fans.

Mr hazelh and I decided to take a day off our usual Monday routine this morning and make the most of the warm weather while we still have it. Instead of a trip to the supermarkets and independent morning exercise, we drove to Balerno for a wander through Malleny Garden. Then we drove up to Harlaw reservoir and found a sunny spot for a picnic lunch.

Back home again, Mr hazelh caught up on television and Gaelic while I walked to the Western General Hospital to visit my friend Kate. Following a wonderful trip to Australia and New Zealand, Kate's health has taken a turn for the worse with further spread of her cancer. In spite of the circumstances, it was still lovely to see her.

I met Mr hazelh in town after my visit to the hospital. From here we walked together to the book launch. Afterwards we feasted on sushi on Hanover Street, then headed home.

Exercise today: walking (26,050 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.