World

This is my little globe squishy stress ball that is currently living in a basket that contains all the bits I need for the working day: pens, sticky notes, my computer mouse and, because I had nowhere else to keep it, a letter opener.  Each day I get these items out and use them while I am working and then pout them back at night. I suppose it gives me a bit of closure on my working day. 

I thought this image, where I tried to photograph the European side of the globe, represents the opposite of a day where I didn’t actually leave the house except for a brief trip to the Co-op after work (where I managed to pick up another parcel for PY’s birthday that went unnoticed). 

I do find having something in my hands when I am thinking helps and I would be really interested to understand the psychology behind it. I’m not sure I use it in stressful moments - perhaps I unknowingly do - but I mainly play around with it while I am on conference calls. It’s out of sight and, often, out of reach because I have a tendency to drop it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.