still trucking...

By johnsmiley1321

The fun with A.I. Continues...

An update on the artificial intelligent assisted truck I drive.. I'll start with the brakes that locked up the other day... the settings power on the radar was set to high - which is why it caught the other cars in the lane beside me on a curve. It's a balance - you want the farthest distance you can get for the radar / safety but since it can't see around corners then...  It still "sees" them but so briefly, it ignores them.

The transmission isn't a morning person... It seems more and more when I first start out I get the message "urge to move aborted".

I find out I have three GPS'es on the truck and none talk to each other. So one will say I am speeding while the other two remain quiet. Only the main one - with a high power receiver - will tell my boss if I actually am speeding though.

I have found out the system will say I am distracted if I drink out of a blue coffee mug at night but not a black one. During the day the system gets it right. I can pour a cup of water at 60 mph as long as I am looking forward at the same time - if I look to make sure I am filling the cup and not spilling on the floor - then it will generated a video to my boss saying I am distracted.. 

It does pick up ALL stop signs including the ones in parking lots... A video of me going through a parking lot one at 3 am was generated is how I know - boss isn't worried about those ones just the ones on the street. The system doesn't know if the stop sign is on private property, public property or if it is an enforceable sign or not - just that it is or isn't.. 

As for this photo? I have been dealing with forward radar on trucks for 13 years now and for the most part I have gotten used to them - especially in a hard rain or thick fog - as it can give you a heads up before you can actually see an object in front of you.. All forward radar units fail in the snow when they get covered - the signal isn't strong enough to go through it.. Well today in a very hard rain on the interstate highway I got this message - "Warning Forward Radar Blocked". Which means the auto braking system won't work in an emergency... Oh well so much for technology...

A few other notes... the right side object in blind spot system works well... doesn't matter if it is a car, pedestrian or retaining wall..  I have ran over two used to be perfectly good cones as they were in my way - the auto braking system didn't activate. You got to watch out for those trees though - in a parking lot, under 5 mph, approaching a tree as I was straightening out the trailer - the system stopped me.

So.. the adventure down the highway continues...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.