Shutterup

By Shutterup

A way to go...

Recipes that say boil for 13 minutes mean nothing.. it took at least half an hour before the damson jam was reaching setting point. It is probably because I was cooking it on an aga and they lose heat making it cook very slowly.  Anyway it is now done and the results look deep damson red and luscious. Just three little pots (and half a ramekins worth to tuck into immediately!) Perfect. 
Now that I have dealt with all the damsons.. we get given some quince at the weekend! Next....

My father used to make damson jam but he never took the stones out..as the result he used to label it Damstone Jam! To be honest I don't think you need to, it is a very fiddly and sticky job but on this occasion I did halve them and remove the stones.  

Little Jasper is not feeling too well.  I suspect a furball may be causing problems or else it might be a surfeit of mouse. .. she hasn't eaten much the past 24 hours and is rather needy, sleeping a lot and not going outside. I did carry her outside and she sat looking about near my feet then wandered tentatively over to some long grass.. medicine grass.. she ate a few strands then slowly went indoors again to lie down. Glad my daughter is returning this evening to take over the responsibility once more. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.