Jon's Page

By Jon_Davey

Ambleside

My sixtieth birthday started checking in with social media - the modern equivalent of waiting for the postman. There was an amazing video that L had put together with lots of birthday messages from family and friends. She had started hoping to get 'sixty for sixty' but in the end beat that target with a few to spare. Loved seeing all the messages, some short and others longer, from people I have met at different times in my life. After breakfast (again, great food) I opened my presents and cards and then read a couple of my new books while L finished off a job. We went out in the afternoon for a wander around Ambleside and spotted that there was a Richard E Grant film on at the local cinema. As there was a bit of a Withnail & I theme in my presents it seemed a good bit of serendipity and we went to the matinee showing. In the evening we were back at Zeff's for our evening meal, reminiscing over all the times we have been there over the years of coming to the Lakes, right back to 1995 and our first visit, shortly after we started going out. When we first visited the restaurant was upstairs and there were shop units on the ground floor but it has long since expanded to take over the downstairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.