MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Ivy Visitors 29

Top of the ivy league today, the central image, is an apple leaf skeletonizer moth. It is very small and I thought at first that it was a piece of detritus. The larvae feed on crab apples and hawthorn. We have plenty of both. I've added an image to its right of its underside which is speckled grey. Great camouflage whichever way up it is.

Always plenty of wasps visiting the ivy. I've posted a German and common previously. Today's wasp has a single spot on its face so could be a tree wasp. Not a great shot but I wanted to include it. The top middle fly is probably a Tachinid. The fly with striped eyes next to it is similar to the one I found and posted which was covered in mites. Wish I could identify it.

A woodlouse because it's a better image than I managed last time. The beautiful underwing of a red admiral. I was hoping for a painted lady. Haven't seen one this year.

We had a terrific lot of rain last night, the ivy was resplendent with droplets this morning. A tiny snail in a heart-shaped little puddle.

A wonderful full moon is illuminating the ivy bush this evening. 

PS Bom's app has suggested locust blowfly for striped eye fly. Correct I think. Shame we don't have locusts in the UK for it. Used to be considered a rare species.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.