LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Pumpkin Season

‘Tis the pumpkin season and along with pumpkins are endless displays of Hallowe’en paraphernalia, all of which pushes aside the alternative Christmas stock which has probably been in some shops since August. Why can’t we all just be in the moment instead of organising ourselves for events 3-6 months ahead.

I am a fine one to talk considering that today I made a small dummy run C cake.  Just as well it’s not the proper one because I used a too small tin with the result I have a cake with a cracked top. I have several recipes for these C cakes and never know which variation to use or which tin to use. Obviously the wrong one today.

I was tied to the house all morning  while the TV  engineers worked out why several of us had pixelated pictures or no signal at all. Alhamdulillah, after 2 hours they found some faulty connection in a cupboard in the building and our pictures have been restored.

The minute I was not tied to the house, I rushed out to buy some brandy for my cake and future cakes to drink over the next weeks. Unfortunately by that time it was raining and so the outing was not one I view with undiluted pleasure especially as the brandy seem to weigh a ton along with the other shopping. Instead of a rucksack, I should swallow my pride and drag a granny basket on wheels. I do have quite a trendy one but I only use it to cart stuff to the charity shop lest people think I’m a little old lady…… perish that thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.