Out and About

By Puffin

Post Box trivia

This is one of the few postboxes in my area that has an afternoon collection time. Most of the small village boxes are collected first thing in the morning which is frustrating when you have have just written 3 birthday cards and want them to go today, as I did. I used a very helpful app on my phone which showed all post boxes and which ones had a "late" collection time . As I posted my cards I was taken by the attractive curve on the top and decided to do a little bit more research. 

I've wasted time before researching post boxes and you would have thought there was nothing interesting about an ER2 box.  I thought it would be easy to identify but I find the shape of the top is the same as the post boxes from GV era which means it is an early ER2 box. It's a Carron Type B pillar box. Type A boxes came in in 1991 

 Carron was one of the major suppliers of letter boxes during the twentieth century. From the Mungal Foundry, near Falkirk, Stirlingshire they cast pillar boxes from 1922.  The company became insolvent in 1982 after 223 years casting iron.

So now you know.  I'll look out for a Type A box when I'm out and about to show you the difference 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.