MollyG

By MollyG

Cologne Views

I had my blip all ready yesterday, but then I lost the server connection just as I was about to post, so I’m doing it again and having to backblip.

On Wednesday morning, we went up to the viewing platform in the “Cologne Triangle”, a skyscraper on the river bank opposite the cathedral and old town. We took the lift to the 28th floor and then walked up one more flight to the roof where we had a magnificent all round view of Cologne and the surrounding area. My blip shows two of the views with a couple of the aspects that signify to me that I’m in continental Europe. Firstly, the huge barges which transport goods along the long river systems,and secondly the enormously long trains that travel great distances from one side of the continent to the other. I’m always fascinated by these trains (and there were much longer ones than that pictured) and they seemed to be going through every couple of minutes. It always makes me want to board one and travel through the countryside and experience another city.

Later we wandered around the Altstadt before heading briefly back to the hotel to get packed up ready for tomorrow’s departure. We then went out for our last dinner in Cologne at a very nice restaurant with more views over to the cathedral.

Extras show the “Triangle” building, some photos from our wander and the view from the restaurant in the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.