Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Visiting Cong

We had a quiet morning as we packed and left the house in good order.

We also prepared for a sharing of images, ten each. As might be expected, this was revelatory. Everyone sees things differently. The standard of images was very high. By the end I had several new ideas to try out.

We ate up leftovers for lunch and then drove towards Galway. Although it was raining all day, I was glad that we stopped in the small town of Cong. There is a ruined abbey, built, destroyed and rebuilt over the centuries.

Next door is the current day Catholic Church, which looks a bit like a bunker and contains some extraordinary modern stained glass, not to my taste.

I wandered to the river and found conkers, looking wonderful in the rain. A single swan was feeding nearby.

The drive into Galway was slow because of all the traffic. We have not seen much for the last few days. Our hotel looked unpromising from the outside but has all we need inside. I’m glad that my room is at the back and away from a noisy square out front.

I would love to be on a trip with this group again. We have all looked out for each other and had lots of laughs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.