A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Gunnii

The tree that refused to grow.

Ok, so, well, it did eventually.

When we married and moved to Cambridge a friend gave us, as a wedding present, the money to buy 'five trees' for the garden. Luckily we'd bought a big garden. To be honest I'm a little uncertain which trees were those five, but one was definitely this Eucalyptus E. Gunnii.

I'm reasonably certain the others were the conifer and juniper at the back, and the rowan and laurel at the front.

Anyway, this one did absolutely nothing for years. Yes it remained healthy, but small. We tried moving it around to no avail. Then I think I cut it hard back one year...

It's quite big now.

--
Met up with Bob & Phil in Cambridge for a CAMIAM working lunch discussing various IT matters. We met at the Trinity Centre on the Science Park, overlooking the small lake / large pond they have. Twenty yards away a heron was also having a relaxed lunch.

Typically, I'd decided to leave my camera at home given the tightly scheduled day...

--
In other news... the battle for my left arm is, I think, slowly being won by the antibiotics. My digestive system seems to be one of the casualties, however.

Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.