Happy Moments

By ApolloFly

Razed to the ground

Thanks for hosting Laurie54.

I’ve chosen ’raze’ as my mono monday word. I was going through yet more boxes of stuff that have moved from house to house with us yesterday and came across this.
A cap badge from the NFS, the National Fire Service which was brought into existence for the war, rather than regional fire brigades.
My grandad who lived in London then served for them. Not sure exactly the circumstances why, but he was about mid thirties and was either a volunteer or full time for them.

Anyway, I always thought ‘razed to the ground was an odd way to describe something, but of course looking further into what that actually means, it can be used as total destruction, which of course applies to fires in London in the war!

Colour version in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.