Ferns in the Rain

I can imagine that the gardeners are rubbing their hands in glee this morning as they awoke to rain-" the gardens are needing it", they'll say.

His Lordship departed for the hills before 8am saying that he knew he was going to get wet, and still he smiled because an extra hardship adds to the pleasure of his day out. There's no accounting for tastes.

Not that I grudged his day away because he came good yesterday afternoon and cleaned the insides of 14 windows, only leaving me to tackle the 5 in my study.
It was technology that prompted him as we had purchased a Window Vac, so adroitly demonstrated at our book group party two weeks ago.

Until he saw the results, he was still telling me it was an expensive white elephant and would languish in the cupboard. However seeing the result of such clean glass, that the trees outside appear to be coming inside, he may have changed his mind. We must not leave it another 3 years before we he bites the bullet again.

Alas the clean glass allows me to see how inclement it is outside and has put me off pursuing a blip further than the border outside the back door.
The ferns it is, and they look verdant and spritely in the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.