ArcLight+

By ArcLight

River

Another picture of the river in Turku (and an extra of autumn colours).

I only ever seem to come here in October. 2015, 2018 and now 2023. It makes me wonder whether the city exists outside that month.

Despite the rather drinksome evening yesterday, I managed to deliver on my commitment to walk to the conference venue, an old prison (which I unaccountably forgot to photograph) the other side of the city centre and down towards the docks area (where the ferries from Stockholm come in). However, I did so with a bit of an ache in my back which made walking a trifle uncomfortable, although it seemed to ease as the day went by. I've taken my camera to Finland, but I didn't ever get it out of my bag, even today when I had a bit more time, and the prospect of an interesting walk through Turku. The S23 just takes photographs which are too damn good.

It was a celebration as much as a conference. I was doing the last paper. A "keynote" no less. It meant I needed to listen carefully to everything that was said to try and draw some links. It seemed to go well, and there was a good Q&A afterwards. I wish I had recorded what I said, as it would make the basis for a good reflection piece that I could publish at some point. (Or reuse if anyone ever asks me to talk on that topic again....).

My energy ran out at the end of the day, so after the reception in the conference venue, I body swerved the second evening event, which was a gathering in a local brewery (although I suspect the beer would have been good). 

I cadged a lift back to the hotel with someone (very nice, whom I'd not met before but who is a great contact), and collapsed on to my (too soft) bed, where I promptly fell asleep at a very early hour. The softness of the bed had me thinking that this might be what had triggered the muscle soreness  or spasm in my back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.