KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

I Love You Irene

My birthmother, Irene, was born in Portland, Oregon (coincidentally) in February 1932. She moved to the east coast as soon as she finished high school to live with her sister. Eventually she discovered she was pregnant with me, and long story short, gave me up for adoption when I was born in 1956. She moved to Pennsylvania and married her husband Larry and they had two (more) daughters. Fast forward to 2000 when I found her. Another long story, but suffice it to say that we met in person in 2001 when I flew down to Pennsylvania. The main photo was taken that weekend - Irene 2nd to right and the three sisters surrounding her. A few extra pounds and a lot less hair on me ;-) First time I'd ever seen anyone who looked like me...amazing. Eventually, through Ancestry.com, we figured out that her husband was actually my birthfather, which made my two sisters full sisters. Another long story as you can imagine.

The extra is me and my two sisters, taken in Louisiana where we went to visit sister Peggy in 2014. I'm on the right.

Irene passed away peacefully this morning at the age of 91. I'm so grateful that we were able to have a good relationship and that my life turned out exactly as it did. I'll miss her very much. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.