Very Dark Chocolate Cookies

It's afternoons like these that buoy me up for the rest of the week.

Bean and I have been working on our friendship. We have talked about what it means to be - and stay - friends, and are trying hard to listen to each other and not shout at each other. It's hard at times, but worth the effort! We stayed friends ALL DAY today.

Which meant I was able to make bread, a batch of these cookies, and finish the lemon meringue pie (at last!) because Bean wasn't winding me or his brother up and was actually listening to me and not ignoring me.

There is hope.

Steve took both boys out for a drive again tonight to get them to sleep so I could do some work, and when they got back Bean did a fabulously successful transfer into his bed and Bear made a pretty good transfer to his bed too when we went to bed!

Cookies:
250g plain flour
50g cocoa powder
200g cold butter, cubed
100g demerera sugar (or golden caster sugar)
Splash of coffee

Rub the butter into the flour/cocoa, stir through the sugar, add a splash (only a splash!) of coffee to help bind into a dough. The butter is usually enough to bind to a dough by itself.

Shape into a ball, wrap in clingfilm, refridgerate 1 hour.

Oven to 180C. Roll out on a floured surface to about 7mm thick. Bake on a lined baking sheet for 10mins. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.