BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Clown

Took a pot shot at a pot. It shattered.
Killed cans. Murdered bottles. Sitting
ducks. Boring. So set my sights on a life
that barely mattered. A feathered creature
(sparrow?) sat in a tree. Not easy to see.
But I got it. Shot it. Blew it to kingdom
come. Feathers flew! Boo-hoo! More
birds followed. Starlings (loads of those).
Blackbirds. A thrush. A wren. A pigeon.
Even a dove. (Bird of peace! Ha ha!). I
was considering going on safari. Big game
hunting. But then that clown across the road
gave me some lip. (A tip – don't upset a guy
with a gun!). Cocky teenager. Full of himself.
Had it coming. So I got him. Shot him. Yes,
just like that. A mistake? Guess so.
They'll be coming for me now. Armed!
I'm on their wanted list. But they won't get me.
I'll open my mouth. Put the barrel in.
Just one bang! Bullseye...I win!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.