Paladian

By Paladian

Challenges

So ... here's the next project.  So many challenges on so many levels.  I decided to to this before the cabled number I blipped a while back, because I actually have this yarn on hand and it needs using up.

First of all - it's knitted in the round; I've never done this before, having always knitted flat and in pieces before sewing up.  Secondly, it's in 4-ply (fingering?); that's not really a challenge except that it will take a bit longer to knit, but I do prefer the fabric of a finer yarn.  And if you look closely you might think that the lace is a challenge but it's not really.  I've always liked knitting lace and it doesn't really worry me.

No - the real challenge is going to be the yoke and the colour work.  The last time I did colour-work would have to be about 40 years ago, and it didn't end happily.

I shall keep you all informed with progress - but I do like knitting in the round; it's kind of calming.

The design, by the way, is by Marie Wallin.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.