Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

To Autumn

Many of us know the line “season of mists and mellow fruitfulness” and probably heard the poem in an English class at school.

It is years since I read it all. Keats wrote a love song to Autumn.

Today was dark and chilly all day. I went into the garden this afternoon to pick apples for Angela. She and Ellen were visiting from Sunderland. I was able to give her large ones for the apple crumbles she is making to sell at the next church coffee morning.

The hostas have looked good this year. I did not intend to use this image for a blip but it did catch my eye. The leaves are becoming translucent. The iPhone camera saw it differently and I like that too!

Joan was here first thing, then the district nurse to dress Mum’s legs, then Liz with news of all the plays and concerts she and Nick have been to, then Angela and Ellen. Our last visitor was Margaret (across the road) to discuss her embroidery.

If you have time, do read the Keats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.