Winsford

By Winsford

Making Connections

Today was all about  Gaelic. I had my u3a group in the morning which I always enjoy - I am slightly further along the learning road that the others but always come away having learnt or consolidated something.

This afternoon I reviewed my notes from last night's conversation class - the tutor is really good at introducing us to different ways of expressing things (in this case things you like, have an interest in, enjoying doing) and getting us to practice, practice, practice.  I found being questioned by my fellow learners easier than asking questions - there is something about setting questions which really tests your understanding. I also finished off my homework for tonight's tutorial. 

In between times I also made some pea and chorizo soup for lunch (so not completely about the Gaelic). 

As a consequence I hadn't taken a picture for a blip and so had a look at the Abstract Thursday theme from inspiration - the challenge was to represent a mood in an abstract image.  I decided upon a close up of a beaded candy cane which I have been working on for a few weeks now - I'm finding it painfully slow and it requires both mental focus in keeping to the correct pattern as well as close working and good light. I have also had to rip it back due to mistakes three times thus far. However I am persevering.  It struck me that there is parallel with learning a language in that you acquire all these bits (words, grammar points) which you gradually stitch together to form sentences and have conversations. 

This challenge (thanks Ingeborg for hosting) also gave me the chance to explore different effects on my camera - this is one which renders your image as an ink drawing. I have added orginal as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.