PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Burghley House Play Area

Today the rain stopped long enough to be worth making an outing to Burghley House, Stamford. Family B made their way there, too, and we met in the car park for an extended family gathering. There is so much to see there and we shall take J back another time, when we're not with the children, to look at other areas. Today we were following the ghost trail that they set up each year and - for the first time this year - visiting the newly-built adventure playground. It is every child's dream: climbing up castle turrets leading to long, curvy slides, rope bridge and balancing equipment. Little Miss B conquered the climbing wall at her first attempt and returned for more. She made light of the rope bridge (in Extras) and enjoyed calling to her mum in whatever the trumpet-y thing was (another Extra.) I went mad taking photos on my camera only to discover the majority were out of focus. I seem to have lost the knack! Perhaps I should stick to my phone? I do have a bit of hand-shake, which I largely blame.

Anyway, as Mr PP often says, the best pictures are in our heads, and it was a delight watching children enjoying themselves, even if / especially as the young master mostly slept in his pushchair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.