Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The coal barn at Thornham

We enjoyed the World Cup final rugby match last night between SA and New Zealand. It was a tense match as the score was so close, but SA managed to win by one point although it really could have gone either way. The last seven seconds were torturous to watch! Very ably refereed by Wayne Barnes, the English ref who had a challenging time reffing such a match but then he is ranked the best ref in the world so was very capable and experienced. 

Today was the highest tide of the year that coincided with sunrise. I had planned to go photograph the coal barn at Thornham because at high tide the road leading to it gets flooded and you can get some great shots. With the clocks going back it now means that sunrise is an hour earlier so I set my alarm dreading the early wake up. I was up early but instead of the promised sunshine it was raining. I decided to go back to sleep but I couldn’t, and then lay in bed getting so frustrated with my decision as the most spectacular sunrise was happening which I could view from the bedroom window! 

Better late then never, I made the decision to go despite missing the sunrise. Gavin came with me and we quickly drove there. It was sunny but there was a cold wind. I took some photos of the flooded area around the coal barn but the tide had already started receding. However the warm golden light on the barn was beautiful so I did get some photos of that. 

Adam had got up before sunrise and went for a 17km run and came home very mud splattered after the overnight rain. After breakfast we all walked the 8km from Brancaster Staithe to Burnham Overy Staithe along the sea defences. They were very muddy in parts. It was beautifully sunny but that cold wind was quite strong, especially as we were facing into it on our walk. We had an excellent Sunday lunch at The Hero in Burnham Overy Staithe before getting the coastal bus back home. 

We packed up and set off for home. The trains were not working from Cambridge so we gave Luke a lift and dropped him off at another station on the way, where the trains were running. The trains are so unreliable these days.  There was an accident on the M11 so we had a diversion which made our journey longer than usual.


Now home, unpacked and hoping for an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.