SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Sunny!

This morning at breakfast when I didn't want the "main" course and gestured to my stomach, Clara offered me an infusion of camomile and oregano. I think that my digestion has slowed due to inactivity and altitude rather than having picked up a bug: after the herbal tea and a stroll around the old town, I felt much better. The weather is much better today, and I was pleased to see the old town in sunshine. There's still cloud on the hills around Quito, and distant views are hazy, so no snowy volcanoes in sight.

Once again we had a planned power cut so, when I returned to the hotel the door bell wasn't working. I had to stand at the door until I saw someone inside, and it was Clara who let me in. Typical of Ecuadorians, she's calm and kind. The country has its problems, but it's still a great place, particularly in the Highlands where the climate is wonderful - this rainy season is short, and typical days are sunny at 25°C.

I will soon leave for the airport and a 14-hour direct flight to Amsterdam 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.