There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Gather Ye Rosesbuds While Ye May

My husband and I were in town for errands. We had lunch out and grocery shopped and used our Giant (an American grocery store chain) gas points to fill up the car and a bunch of cans too with deeply discounted gasoline. (Insert gratuitous Mad Max 2 "fat tank of gasoline" quote here.)  ;-)

As soon as he pulled the car in along the gas pumps, I spotted the roses. They sat there looking like summertime, and there were probably a hundred of them. Some were in decent condition, others not so much. I noticed a flaming red tree behind the roses, and I decided to use that tree to make a colorful bokeh for my shot.

So here is a close-up of one of the pink roses in town - no, not just any rose, but one PERFECT rose - on the day before yet another frost might take them all. I felt so helpless for the roses. There was no way to protect them at all. Soon they would be done and gone. So Eden sank to grief. *sigh* Farewell to sweet summer.

I got back in the car with my camera, as my husband finished up with the gas. "Go ahead and pick a rose for yourself," he urged me. "That thought would never have crossed my mind," I said, quite honestly. "Go ahead," he said; "Nobody's going to arrest you!" Still, I resisted. I am not one to pluck flowers that are not mine.

But he insisted, and in fact would not move the car until I did so. And so it was that I hopped out of the car and ran over to my one perfect rose. I bent the stem, and plucked the bloom, and took it home, and I saved it from the frost.

And I was thinking, the whole time: "No, Dad, I won't forget what you told me about the roses."

My soundtrack song is Pat Benatar and her husband Spyder, with Papa's Roses. It begins shortly before the 10-minute mark on this video. (And aren't they just adorable together!???)

Related poems:
Robert Herrick, To the Virgins, to Make Much of Time
Robert Frost, Nothing Gold Can Stay
The Little Prince, his fox, and the rose

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.