Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Harvest Decor

There are two far from ripe persimmons and some limes from our trees in this picture plus some tiny pumpkins from Oliver's. The flowers are from the farmers' market...pale yellow chrysanthemums and black sunflowers which all fit the harvest theme. Close inspection will reveal a Hershey's kiss sized Halloween angel (isn't that an oxymoron?) handed me by the Oliver's cashier. She said her father makes them for every holiday, and I was so charmed by the idea that I perched it on one of the tiny pumpkins. Maybe I'll collect them.

My best accomplishment today was remembering that I might have some prednisone drops stashed away in the cupboard at the top of the stairs. It is a bit of a glory hole and I tend to forget about, but I was pleased to find an almost new bottle of the wildly expensive eye drops. The instructions are always to administer them 3x/day 'until next visit', and they always seem to run out just a few days before the next visit. Fortunately I found an almost full miniscule bottle from the last time I ran out a few days early, so I was saved the drive across town not to mention a lot of money .

We got up in the dark this morning so that we could have time for a coffee before  heading into the frigid Pilates room for our Zoom class. It's a good thing we don't have to go out into the cold two days in a row; it was hard enough to get into the next room. We will be setting the clocks back in a week or so and it will be even harder to get out of a nice warm bed.

Our carefully laid plans for sharing the car fell short today. I had an appointment until 1:30, giving me just enough time to get the car home so John could go for his two minute light treatment. Unfortunately, The short distance home was made considerably longer by two lots of one way traffic in the short distance between intersections on Montgomery Drive, and it was just my luck to have to stop and wait for both of them. John thought it wouldn't matter if he was fifteen minutes late, but it did and he had to reschedule his two minutes in a telephone booth sized space in his underwear with a pillowcase over his head. There seems to be road work or tree work or PG&E work and sometimes all three on every road in town. Even WAZE can't always figure out which streets to avoid. 

First world problem though, so I'm really not complaining...

There will be lots of costumed candy seekers at Dana and Jim's door tonight but It is never efficient to climb the driveways on our street so we will have a full bowl of 'fun sized' candy tomorrow because John always insists on buying it even though we have never had a single person ring our doorbell on Halloween. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.