StephenF

By StephenF

A night out in London

I've been in London two days running, meeting with prospective candidates to take over as Chair of the Trust of which I am the Secretary. I thought it might be touch and go getting into town today because of Storm Ciaran but in the end the 41 minute delay leaving Woking was down to a trespasser on the line. After the meeting I had to change into my rarely worn "penguin suit" to attend the Gala Dinner celebrating the 150th anniversary of the Technology and Construction Court. My Trust has helped to fund the TCC150 exhibition which can still be seen at the Rolls Building in London off Fetter Lane. I found I could just about still fit into the dinner suit but the squeezing  reinforced my need to lose a bit of flab around the waist!  The event was held at the Grand Connaught Rooms in Covent Garden. I once attended a, personally, rather dismal NHS conference there in 2001 but it has clearly had an impressive makeover and restoration since then with a lot of the original art deco features now very prominent. The main photo is of the entrance to the Great Hall and one of the extras shows the interior where the dinner took place. The other extra is the rain swept view from Waterloo Bridge when I was crossing over the river in a taxi. Happily the trains are still ruining, if rather crowded, so posting today's blip has kept me occupied on the journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.