Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

Its a NO from me

Had a busy morning getting on with various chores. At 3.30pm I was ready and waiting for my sister in law V  to arrive to give me a lift to Newcastle so I could go to the match.  I decided to go a bit earlier than I needed to so I could do a bit of shopping

V dropped me off near Chinatown and I walked to Eldon Square shopping Centre.  Looked in a few shops and made some purchases.  Then it was time to make my way to St James Park for the 5.30pm kick off.  The weather was cold but dry.  It did start raining later during the match but it was dry when I came out afterwards to walk for my lift.

Newcastle were playing Arsenal.  It was a tough match.  Lots of fouls and poor decisions by the referee.  The first half ended 0 - 0.  More of the same in the second half - both teams battling to try and score.  Newcastle player Anthony Gordon got the ball in the net after 64 mins.  However before the goal was awarded there were VAR checks to be done.  It took around 6 mins for a decision to be made.  Its terrible having to wait so long to find out if your team have scored or not. Apparently in this case there were 3 VAR checks - the ball was possibly out of play, there may have been a foul on an Arsenal player and  a Newcastle player may possibly have been offside.  In the end the referee awarded the goal.  .What a relief for the Newcastle fans. ( The Arsenal manager was furious ). Arsenal  continued to fight hard to score but the Newcastle defence was strong and the final score ( after 8 mins of extra time ) was Newcastle 1 Arsenal 0.  Its the first time Arsenal have been beaten in the Premiership this season.

After the match I walked back to Chinatown to wait for V to pick me up.  She arrived around 8pm.  The traffic was terrible and we took a while to get out of town. 

Finally sat down to eat my meal around 9.30pm.  Started watching Strictly which I had recorded .... and fell asleep.  So its a late blip this evening.

I spotted these crisps this afternoon and thought they would fit the Silly Saturday brief.  Christmas Pudding flavoured crisps.... a very silly idea as far as Im concerned.  I like my crisps to taste savoury.  Thanks to 60plus for hosting in memory of Admirer.

The not very silly thing is that these Christmas themed multipacks  contain 5 bags of crisps instead of the usual 6 --- for the same price as the 6 packs.  A cheeky way for Walkers to increase their profits.

Steps today - 8.495

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.