analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

The Bach Bible. Leitz Summicron 50mm DR

I think it was during Lockdown, 3+ years ago, that it began:  When the day's hurly-burly's done, I would sit down to listen to one - or perhaps two - of Johann Sebastian Bach's church cantatas.  Of late, the process has become much more detailed and immersive, with analysis not only of the music itself, but the text, who the librettist was, and how it is married exquisitely to the music.  To help me in this endeavor, this wonderful volume came to join my library yesterday.  It has found a home right on my desk.  Now I have the history of each of the cantatas - of which there are more than 200 -, and the German and English texts right at my finger tips without having to do Google searches while trying to concentrate on the performances.  A little learning is a dangerous thing..., quoth Alexander Pope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.