spannarama

By spannarama

Thwarted part 2

Had a bit of a lie-in, having not got to sleep until around 1:30am, and  knowing the storm wasn't due to ease off until later.  I eventually checked out of the Premier Inn and walked to Exeter Central to catch the train to Barnstaple - and got kicked off it one stop later, at Crediton.  No one really knew why we couldn't go any further, only that we couldn't.

The train staff asked us to cross over to the other platform so they could shunt the train over and take us back to Exeter.   Aaaargh.  I was really exhausted and despairing by now - I may have had a little cry on the train back into Exeter.  But then it all went OK from that point - we all trooped over to the duty manager's office at Exeter Central, and they put all the Barnstaple-bound people in taxis.  It was a rather cosy experience (I was in the middle of the back seat with two other women), but it got us there an hour or so later - and Tim picked me up from Barnstaple station.  So glad to see him, and to arrive back home half an hour after that.  I couldn't quite believe I was finally there!  (22 hours after I left the office on Wednesday.)

Got straight back into work when I got in, and managed a half day at least.  Very happy to make it to bedtime and get into my own lovely bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.