wingpig

By wingpig

revisits

I've had a photo of this bridge in my Flickr for a while but didn't have any record of whereabouts it was, other than somewhere along the Almond on the way back from Almond Valley Heritage Centre. A mobile image frm the same day indicates that that particular journey was made on the red Revolution bike. I've been past it a couple of times since without any record of doing so, but a quick GoogleMap found where it was and that it was easily within reach for a use-up-holiday-day day-off-trundling-round-places-I-haven't-been-for-a-while. I must have noticed the nice big viaduct this is almost beneath when I've been along the Almond (though neither the viaduct nor wee metal bridge are visible from the Nasmyth bridge, which we've been over whilst at Almondell Country Park with small children) but approached from the north at the level of the top of it on this trip, popping over, then under, then up the other side of the gorge to the point where the path across would eventually end up, which is then unforunately currently blocked without diversion by Cala Homes. Apart from the last wee steep bit of Long Dalmahoy Road this was all quite manageable on a singlespeed, though I resolved to get the geared bike working again for next week's free day in case I fancy going somewhere with steep bits in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.