RunAndrewRun

By RunAndrewRun

'He fumbles at your soul' by Emily Dickinson

Running rest-day, and my pictured poetry-volume today is of one of my all-time favourite collections (and poets): Emily Dickinson.

I just find it amazing that her talents were never really recognised throughout her lifetime (1830-1886), as I do believe her poetry has a style and quality that is just so unique and outstanding ...

... this is one of her more well-known poems about belief, love and nature.


He fumbles at your Soul

He fumbles at your Soul
As Players at the Keys
Before they drop full Music on-
He stuns you by degrees-

Prepares your brittle Nature
For the Ethereal Blow
By fainter Hammers-further heard-
Then nearer-Then so slow

Your Breath has time to straighten-
Your Brain-to bubble Cool-
Deals-One-imperial; Thunderbolt-
That scalps your naked Soul-

When Winds take Forests in the Paws-
The Universe-is still-


Very, very powerful language and imagery.

I'll keep it in my mind as I'm running tomorrow :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.