JohnW

By JohnW

Heath Robinson – “Eat your heart out . . .”

On Tuesday I mentioned that I had been constructing a ‘remote thermostat assembly’ for Mrs W.
 
Well this is the final job, just lacking the box over the top to keep the warmth in.
 
Ambient temperature is important when curing resin, Mrs W’s latest fad hobby.  For long cures the room temperature is not stable enough and a bit cool, so we tried our old ‘demijohn’ fermentation heater.  Unfortunately this was too powerful so the poor old grey cells had to be put into use. 
 
Phase one (on Tuesday) was to construct a temperature control.  This comprised of an old thermostat (I changed it out when we moved in – about twenty years ago AND I knew where it was!!), a 13 amp socket,  and some corner brackets I bought for something years ago, heaven knows what?!
 
Next was the cover to keep the heat in (use your imagination, it’s out of sight close by).  After I proved that it would all work I moved to phase three today, which was the rack so that the casting mould would not be sitting directly on the heater.  It needed levelling so I soldered a couple of nuts to the ‘short end’ of the rack (ex cooker shelf) to take a couple of bolts.
 
As I am typing Mrs W is doing the first pour to try it all out for real – watch this space!

 
 
The photo was hand held, 1/15th sec, f/7.1, five frame stack in low light, just for the heck of it . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.