talloplanic views

By Arell

It's in my nature

It was a bit of an environmenty day, with what I wondered might be a bee fly taking in some sunshine on the wall at lunchtime. That might've done for a blip but I was planning to chop up one of two old scaffolding boards for big kindling. They've been sitting outside for years. When I parted them I discovered what seemed like the world's entire breeding population of wood lice nestled in between the two, and I got a bit sad at the prospect of disturbing them. So instead I chopped some smaller pieces of old board, then started sweeping up the wood shavings from the patio. As I did this a robin arrived and proceeded to poke around in the piles I'd swept up.

Since it is autumn and cold, Dr Arell became Mrs Hyde who decided to give the robin a better chance of finding food and she pulled out the top board, whereupon our visitor went pecking here and there and everywhere, and had a good old tuck in on almost all of the little wood lice.  Fear not, dear reader: I can safely say that there are many, many more where they came from!

It being November, I decided then to take a walk through the nature reserve to see how the mushrooms were doing. I found many varieties last October. This time, only perhaps three or four, and I wondered if it was a bit early still. The only one I recognised was the Common Earthball which was already releasing its spores, but I haven't identified the one pictured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.