Connor

My fourth outing for Liphook thirds today.

We scored 240 in our 42 overs which is pretty good going. John, our Captain scored 104 as he rather hogged the batting! Connor scored a wonderful 66. Some people have natural talent and Connor is one of these people. I came in towards the end of our innings, and have never seen a cricket ball move about in the air so much. It was a really windy day, and most balls left the bowler aiming to go down leg side, and ended up nearly being called a wide down the off side! I found it difficult, but was unbeaten at the end of our innings on 8. Sonnumbertwo came and joined me at the crease for the last over which was nice, and we scored 8 from the last 5 balls, with sonnumbertwo scoring 3 from 2 balls faced.

We seemed to be on top for the early stages of Ramsdell's innings, but a couple of their batsmen got in and gave them the edge. The last few overs were tight, and we ran out winners by 14 runs. A long day of cricket, but great fun - and really special to be able to play on the same team as sonnumbertwo.

What is particularly exciting is that because I was not out, my average for the season has now increased to 56! This puts me second in the batting averages for every single player in the Cricket Club :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.