Marking Time

By Libra

Sunset over the Wallace monument

It’s some time since I have taken this walk which offers spectacular views of the Wallace monument, an iconic memorial to the 13th century Scots warrior, Sir William Wallace.
 
His legacy got a 20th century boost with the release of the film "Braveheart" in 1995.
It sparked a Braveheart frenzy and the car park had to be doubled in size to cope with the influx of international visitors as well as those from the UK.
 
Our local second-hand bookshop, sadly now closed, remembers an American walking in and buying every book in the shop that had a reference to Wallace.
 

Today a friend told me his wife was up at a double cross-dressing wedding at loch Venachar a very popular wedding venue.
 
At the risk of being politically incorrect I had to ask for more details since I had never heard of a double cross-dressing wedding before. Well, the man wore a dress and make up and his partner, a woman, wore a kilt.
 
 
They celebrated with a fire party; no, I had no idea what that was either but didn’t like to show my ignorance.
“Were they students?” I asked.
 “No Americans, he said.
 
Link:  Braveheart

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.