Marionb

By Marionb

The Best Laid Plans..

...as usual, did not stand up to the test of my brother's unpredictable life...heh heh...

Today was to be another family day with my brother and sister; the three of us rarely get together, so I planned a fun outing to a village with antique stores in which to browse and buy neat things..(maybe even Christmas related as the season is nigh)...... a little lunch at the only cafe in town, and a leisurely drive through the countryside en route home for a special dinner.. dinner table already set with "good" china and colour co-ordinated napkins adorned with fancy napkin rings, a seasonal centrepiece, and candles - sort of a farewell to autumn?  

Well, that all fizzled. My brother had something come up that needed his attention right away, and could not come out to join us...so we decided to save that idea for another visit....

Instead, as the weather was perfect for yard work, my sister offered to help me with my outdoor chores ... and I never turn down such offers! We managed to get all the flower pots emptied and the remaining garden decor items and chairs stored away and..yes!... 3 bags of leaves raked up! That hardly made a dent in the blanket of leaves out there, but it was a good start and I will continue the raking marathon tomorrow after my sister goes home...

After that? Reading by the fire whilst sipping tea in a "good" china teacup.(extra)  I was anxious to start my new book (main photo) which I had just picked up at the library..(and which seems to be of interest to Maggie.) - the first book in the Strike series by JK Rowling writing as Robert Galbraith. It had been recommended to me by a very clever fellow blipper whose spouse was  reading the latest in the series...

Sometimes I am amazed at how I miss so much..like why was I not aware of this very popular series which, judging by the well-worn condition of the book itself, was definitely popular!  And, quel surpris, there is actually a TV series based on it? Well, thankfully, I am on Blipfoto where one picks up so much one has missed!  Lucky me.

PS:  My sister and I fully enjoyed our Farewell to Autumn dinner by ourselves, and by candlelight. 

And, Oh yes..about the extra..the second in my TEACUP series? - Evesham by Royal Worcester - the "good" china I started collecting after divorce..it seemed so much more like me than the Royal Doulton did! So much less formal..It has now been re-homed to my daughter who may or may not use it! I have just kept a few pieces for old times sake...and I am using it every day. :)) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.