Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Gigantic Jumper

I like to post at least 4 people shots per month but I really don't know why I bother, judging by the response, very few people are interested in them. Perhaps I should have put up one of the cute kiddie images of which I had plenty.

For those of you that do like kiddy blips, I have put a selection of 25 of my favorite from the kids party onto Flickr.

I wanted to get back into my bug blips with something special, but passed half way through my morning safari and still hadn't pressed the button. The return walk is a lot easier as the sun is behind me and I am not squinting.

I spotted this huge male jumping spider from about 15 feet. With its golden sheen, I knew exactly what it was and was able to approach with stealth. After collecting all the dorsal shots for my collection, I wiggled my fingers in front of his face, this caused him to turn around and allow me to get this shot. He was very cooperative and I managed 8 keeper images with a few crops bringing the number up to 11. This hyllus spider was a shoe in for blip as I had nothing else from the whole trip.

Identification - hyllus giganteus.

This is one of two large jumping spiders that I see, the other being diardi which I have blipped in the past. Both these spiders I have seen approach lengths getting on for an inch, although this one has a bit more growing to do, at around 5/8" long.

Amongst the largest jumpers in the world, I don't recall ever seeing one feeding, probably because the meal doesn't take very long. I have read that they like to prey on other jumpers.

Such a beautiful spider, no wonder it is so desirable in the pet market, but difficult to get hold of. I don't see them too often, but I feel privileged to find both these stunning large jumpers on my safari grounds.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.